By failing to prepare, you are preparing to fail


The examination consists of only two papers: Paper 1 for B.E./BTech courses and Paper 2 for BArch and BPlanning courses. A candidate can opt for any or both the papers. Paper 1 is mandatorily a computer based test (called Online mode) from 2019. Till 2018, there was an option between OMR based and computer based mode. The examination was conducted in offline pen and paper mode till 2010. In 2011, as per the orders of the Ministry of Human Resource Development, CBSE conducted Paper 1 in Computer-Based-Test mode for the first one lakh candidates who opted for the same, while the remaining students took the examination in the conventional pen and paper mode. The number of attempts which a candidate can avail at the examination is limited to three in consecutive years. As of 2018, the top 224,000 rankers of JEE (Main) will qualify to take the second and final level of examination: JEE (Advanced)

In 2010 the Ministry of Human Resource Development announced plans to replace JEE by 2013 with a common entrance test for all government engineering colleges which will be called Indian Science Engineering Eligibility Test (ISEET). Accordingly, MHRD proposes to set up National Testing Service, which will be an autonomous and self-sustained agency to conduct this new common entrance test.

Mode of exam

  • B.E. /B. Tech. (Paper 1) Physics, Chemistry and Math
    part 1, 2 and 3 respectively will be conducted in Computer Based Test mode only
  • B. Arch (Paper 2) Mathematics and Aptitude Test, part 1 and 2 respectively will be held in Computer Based Test mode only. While Drawing Test or part 3 will be in offline mode on drawing sheet.
  • B. Planning (Paper 3) Mathematics, Aptitude Test and Planning Based Questions, part 1, 2 and 3 respectively will be held in Computer Based 
    Test mode only.

Participating institutes

Institutes participating in the 2017 centralized seat allocation process included:-